Dogwood 52 Challenge Week 7

Week 7 of the Dogwood 52 Challenge asked of us to take a Landscape: Wide Angle/Panorama landscape photo.

I’ll admit that out of all the Genres involved in this challenge or even in photography landscape is not one that sends shivers of inspiration through my soul to my fingertips and into my shutter count, but landscape is something that I find very therapeutical and personal.

Other than the Dogwood 52 Challenge the only time you would find me out doing a landscape would either be when something is on my mind or I have a big decision to make.

Landscape photography helps me to unwind and relax which is why I find it tends to be my go to genre of photography to chill out and not one I really get excited about. So when given the task of going out to do a landscape I find myself dragging my heals a little as the enthusiasm is lacking.

One of the reasons I decided to do the Dogwood was to force me to engage with the other photography genres and re-ignite my photography passion outside of my work life. So far so good, I have taken a number of photos in the last seven weeks that I wouldn’t have bothered with otherwise and the results have been both entertaining and therapeutically rewarding. In a nutshell I’m enjoying forcing myself to take pictures I didn’t really ‘think’ I wanted to take.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 18.09.35

So the Landscape: Wide Angle/Panorama photo. Well since I shoot full frame and with work would regularly dig out a 16 – 35 mm lens I wanted to avoid taking the shortcut and using a wide angle but to use a standard 24 – 105 f4 and make a Panorama landscape photo.

Another one of the reasons I wanted to do this was that I think since I started taking photos I think I have taken 1 Panorama Landscape photo in my life and wanted to give it another go.

So today I drove to Balbriggan Beach and wandered out onto the rocks (around 11 am) and settled myself down with my tripod and camera. Popping on a circular polarizer (lets be honest I don’t do landscape without one and you shouldn’t really either), big stopper and a medium ND gradulated filter and took 9 photos. Three using a rock as an anchor point and then 3 images of a third either side of the rock. Why 3? Simply so I could try and capture the water at the shore in a similar swell for the final three images.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once back in the studio, studio cat decided to sleep in my hoodie so editing was a little more entertaining than usual.

12698197_10153275794646479_5314800345355302922_o

I used Photoshop to align the three images and made some universal edits such as lens spots, water splashes and the odd bit of smudge off the lens. I then adjusted the color and shading of the images until I found a balance that I liked. I even managed to spot that I had included the moon in the photo, but as I’m only uploading a low-res version of the image you may need to take my word for it. A full size image would show it much better (in my opinion).

So here is my final image, made of three photos all shot with the same settings, 50 22 2″ shot at a focal length of 28 mm

Week7

Any questions please feel free to ask and as always….

Like this post? why not like my Facebook page

or

Check out my website atwww.SeanMoorePhotography.ie

5 thoughts on “Dogwood 52 Challenge Week 7

  1. Thank goodness for #s! I’ve been having a blast finding other photographer/bloggers and reading about their experiences so far. Love all of your images! But hey, man. I have a beef with you. This week is Faceless Portrait! Next week is panoramic. Come on! I want to see what you do with Faceless! 🙂

    1. Hi Lori, thank you for the comment admittedly I got my weeks wrong and thought 7 was the pano and 8 was the faceless portrait, I’ll be shooting a faceless portrait on Saturday morning especially to make up for the oversight 🙂

Leave a Reply

